Literary ages in English literature and their key Texts

Literary PeriodTimeKey Texts
Anglo-Saxon period (Old English)450-1066Beowulf
Middle English Period
Age of Chaucer (1340-1400)
Barren Age (1400-1485)
1066-1485Canterbury Tales,
Le Morte d’ Arthur
Early Renaissance1485-1558
The Renaissance
Elizabethan Age (1558-1603)
Jacobean Age (1603-1625)
Caroline Age (1625-1649)
Commonwealth Age/Puritan Interregnum (1649-1660)
1500-1660Tottle’s Miscellany
The Faerie Queene,
The Alchemist,
Paradise Lost
The Neo-classical Period
The Restoration (1660-1700)
Augustan Age/Age of Pope (1700-1745)
Age of Sensibility/Age of Johnson (1745-1785)
1660-1785Essay of Dramatic Poesie,
An Essay on Criticism
Romantic Period1789-1850Lyrical Ballad
The Victorian Period
Early Victorian Age/Age of Tennyson (1832-1871)
Aestheticism & Decadence,
Age of Hardy/Late Victorian (1871-1901)
1832-1901In Memoriam
The Modern Age
The Edwardian Period (1901-1912)
The Georgian Period (1912-1936)
1901-1945The Waste Land
The Postmodern Period1945 onwardWaiting for Godot
LC 0.1
The above table shows the different literary Periods and sub periods of English literature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *